About 40 years ago, shortly after I graduated with my Master’s in Counseling/Psychotherapy, I somehow found myself working at a prison in Washington State, serving a group of male inmates who, upon their own initiative, urged the administration of that prison to allow them to secretly hire a competent therapist to help them with their problems.

This was a most courageous and Enlightened thing they did… and I am just now admitting to them, and to the world, that I believe it was my own ignorance that caused their program to be closed down.  And I am most profoundly sorry to have been the cause of that happening.

Now, 40 years later, I wish to extend an apology to those inmates for my being so darned naive regarding the utter ignorance [and intense fear] of the State, and the Department of Corrections.  It was my own ignorance of how frightened, ignorant, and stupid the Department of Corrections was [and still is] that led me to try and encourage the Department of Corrections to extend this program to all prisons in Washington State.

In providing testimony to a group at the Capital, which included the head of the DOC, and some state officials, I mistakenly used the word “experiment”… as in the inmates were brave enough “to experiment with a new idea”…

Well the paranoia of the high-paid people at that hearing caused them to hear nothing but my one word “experiment”.  They did not hear what I said, nor how positive I was about the courageous attempt by inmates to help themselves.  They only heard the word “experiment,” and that terrorized them.

Within a week, I was told that I had been black-balled by the state, and that I was no longer permitted to help any prisoner in the system.  And I was amazed, dumbfounded, and only now, some 40 years later, am I finally realizing just how frightened some people can be?

One inmate refused to buckle under the fear of the DOC, and he and I maintained correspondence [through which he was able to awaken to a number of early childhood events that were the “cause” of his previous predatory behavior].  For that, I will always be thankful.

Enlightened Psychotherapy is, quite simply, one Soul conveying to another Soul the permission to rise above the MIND, and to recognize the negative misperceptions that  were held by the MIND of the person Within whom such misperceptions were held.  Once this occurs, the misperceptions are converted from misperception to Spiritual Energy Within the person, and they no longer possess the power to cause that person to act out negatively.

Then it is just a matter of learning new ways of being, which come rather quickly.

Peace

Brother James

Leave a Reply

